FANDOM

250,878 Pages

1940's World War II Era Ball
Venue Boulder Airport
Location Boulder, Colorado

1940's World War II Era Ball is an annual historical reenactment event in Boulder, Colorado.[1][2][3] The event is a ball, which features swing music from the 1940s and impersonators of musicians and entertainers such as Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Marilyn Monroe, Judy Garland and the Andrews Sisters.[4][5] The ball is held in a hanger at the Boulder Airport and features World War II-era airplanes including C-45 Expeditors and B-25 Mitchells.[1][4][6] The ball also holds an annual 1940s White Christmas Ball.[7] Net proceeds from the event are donated to the Wounded Warrior Project and The Spirit of Flight Center Colorado.[8]

The 1940s World War II Era Ball was first held in 2008.[9] The ball was founded by Khyentse James, who previously founded the Decibelle Music and Culture Festival.[1][10] The ball was created in honor of James' grandparents, who were radio performers and met while they were working at a radio station together in the 1940s.[7][11][12]

ReferencesEdit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Adam Perry. "Having a ball". Boulder Weekly. http://boulderweekly.com/archives/20090611/overtones.html. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  2. Aimee Heckel. "1940s World War II Ball goes to new heights in second year". Colorado Daily. http://www.coloradodaily.com/ci_15204670. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  3. Quentin Young. "1940s WWII Era Ball to transport attendees with old styles, music, dance". Times-Call. http://www.timescall.com/lifestyles/entertainment/ci_20777142/1940s-wwii-era-ball-transports-attendees-old-styles. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  4. 4.0 4.1 "Period Piece". Denver Westword. http://www.westword.com/2010-06-17/calendar/period-piece/. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  5. Amber Taufen. "Play It, Sam". Denver Westword. http://www.westword.com/2012-06-14/calendar/play-it-sam/. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  6. Joy Harper. "OUR PICK: World War II Era Ball in Boulder". The Gazette. http://gazette.com/our-pick-world-war-ii-era-ball-in-boulder/article/119577. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  7. 7.0 7.1 "1940s Christmas Ball At Wings Over The Rockies Air And Space Museum Sells Out On Pearl Harbor Anniversary". Huffington Post. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/10/1940s-christmas-ball-at-w_n_2274024.html. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  8. Janice Wood. "1940′s Ball at Boulder Airport". General Aviation News. http://generalaviationnews.com/2012/05/24/1940s-ball-at-boulder-airport/. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  9. Dan Daru. "Boulder World War II Ball a trip back in time". FOX 31. http://kdvr.com/2012/06/15/boulders-world-war-ii-era-ball-a-trip-back-in-time/. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  10. Lauren R. Harrison. "We're here, we're queer, we rock". Chicago Tribune. http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2010-04-02/entertainment/ct-ott-0402-gay-rock-20100402_1_queer-band-members-gary-airedale. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  11. Shannon Wolfe. "1940′s WWII Era Ball: Khyentse James Takes A Sentimental Journey". Ask Miss A. http://askmissa.com/2011/08/10/1940s-wwii-era-ball-khyentse-james-takes-a-sentimental-journey/. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 
  12. "1940s World War II Era Ball: Boulder Airport site of June 16 1940s-era annual ball celebration". Denver Post. http://www.denverpost.com/recommended/ci_20798091. Retrieved April 12, 2014. 

This page uses Creative Commons Licensed content from Wikipedia (view authors).

}}

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.